skip navigation

Ed Baldwin "Spirit of SCMAF" Award

This award is named for former SCMAF Executive Director Ed Baldwin.  He became a member of SCMAF in 1972, serving as chairperson of the Men’s Softball Committee for three years and served on Special Projects, Officials Certification, Men’s Basketball, Citation and Awards and the Women’s and Girls’  Softball Committees. He received a  Service Award in 1974 and the Citation Award in 1976.

In 1978, Ed became the Executive Director of SCMAF, replacing the retiring Pat  Patterson. During Ed’s tenure as Executive Director, SCMAF grew and prospered. Ed’s philosophy was, “The SCMAF operation depends on every member doing his or her part to keep the Federation great. SCMAF is only as strong as each individual member, uniting as part of the whole team.”

His great love for family, recreation, sports and athletics was always reflected in his outstanding and dedicated performance to SCMAF and the communities it serves. The recipient embodies that “spirit” and dedication to the Federation. Selections are made by the SCMAF President.

SINCE 1989

2019 Kenny Harris Carson
2018 Rich Carr Santa Clarita
2017 Sherre' Titus Cerritos
2016 Bill Smith Colton
2015 Kim Freed Burbank
2014 Steve Hunt Richard Fisher Associates
2013 Manuel Cantu Santa Fe Springs
2012 Tim Grierson Carson
2011 David De Leon La Habra
2010 Nick Johnson Fontana
2010 Hector Vasquez Fontana
2009 Dale Sumersille Ojai
2008 Carlos Espinosa Cerritos
2007 Daniel Schneider Rancho Cucamonga
2006 Dale Kurata Buena Park
2006 Heidi Xitco Cerritos
2005 Michelle Van Sickle Buena Park
2005 Ralph Aranda Monterey Park
2004 Sherre' Titus Cerritos
2003 Bill Smith Colton
2002 Scott Williamson Newport Beach
2002 Wayne Michalak Ontario
2001 Bob Naus Banning
2001 Jose Perez Santa Ana
2000 Janis Heckel Anaheim
2000 Bill Calkins Los Alamitos
1999 Rena Smith Jurupa Area Recreation & Park District
1998 Kevin McArdle Rancho Cucamonga
1998 George Price Moreno Valley
1997 Jeff Van Sickle Garden Grove
1996 Ross Moodie Irvine
1996 Joe Mendoza Cerritos
1995 Teri Stein Burbank
1995 Cathy Fischer El Monte
1994 Don Fromknecht La Palma
1993 Jim Bradshaw Carlsbad
1993 Cindy Blount Lomita
1992 Ernest Vital Cerritos
1991 Brent Mason Poway
1990 Trudy Nuzum Costa Mesa
1989 Marty Nicholson Spring Valley
1989 Sue Leto Chino