skip navigation

Softball Umpire Clinics

TRAINING & CERTIFICATION CLINICS FOR 2018

These SCMAF certification and training clinics are open to all officials. Individual umpires may enroll to be certified for the new year. In addition, agencies and/or associations may send their officials to this quality training for rookie and veteran officials alike. Check the calendar below for the next clinic in your area and call the contact person listed for enrollment information.

All clinics will include:

  • SCMAF Certification for 2018
  • Extensive instruction in rules, mechanics, appearance, conduct, liability and more
  • Appropriate training for veteran officials, as well as those officiating for the first time
  • Interactive clinics, with ample opportunity for questions in order to fortify understanding

*Additional clinics will be added. Watch for future announcements regarding these sessions, or contact your association representative for the most recent schedule.

General questions regarding officials certification may be directed to:

Davie B. Gillus (SCMAF Program Coordinator) 
(626) 448-0853 Ext. 15; daviegillus@scmaf.org

Bill Smith (City of Colton/SCMAF Umpire-In-Chief) 
(909) 370-5051; bsmith@ci.colton.ca.us


HOPE TO SEE YOU OUT AT ONE OF OUR CLINICS SOON!

2018 FEDERATION CLINICS

 MONTH LOCATION DATE(S) CONTACT PERSON  CONTACT INFORMATION 
January Thousand Oaks Jan 10 - Feb 7 Paul McCarter (805) 495-4674 pmccarter@crpd.org
Carson 10 Matt Jordan (310) 847-3576 mjordan@carson.ca.us
La Verne 11,18 Chad Peterson (909) 596-8700 cpeterson@ci.la-verne.ca.us
or Jeff Freeth (909) 394-6236 jfreeth@ci.san-dimas.ca.us
Montebello 16,17 David Sosnowski (323) 887-4588 dsosnowski@cityofmontebello.com
Whittier 20 Justin Steele (562) 567-9430 jsteele@cityofwhittier.org
Ventura 23, 30 Max Prophet (805) 658-4743 mprophet@cityofventura.net
Santa Clarita 27 Mike Titter (661) 290-2243 mtitter@santa-clarita.com
Camarillo Jan 27 & Feb 7 Lanny Binney (805) 482-1996 ldbinney@pvrpd.org
Oxnard 27 John Godina (805) 469-8861 john.godina@ci.oxnard.ca.us
Simi Valley Jan 27 - Feb 15 Greg Laranjo (805) 584-4474 greg@rsrpd.us
Torrance 28 Garrett Craig (310) 781-7590 gcraig@torranceca.gov
Glendale TBA Will DeLaCerda (818) 937-7441 wdelacerda@glendaleca.gov
February Victorville 24 Bill Smith (909) 370-5051 bsmith@coltonca.gov
Burbank TBA Scott Matthews (818) 307-0405 smatthews@burbankca.gov
Escondido TBA Jim Shelton (619) 994-5395 jline70@msn.com
Dana Point TBA Kolleen Wallace (949) 248-3538 kwallace@danapoint.org
March Palmdale TBA Ryan Herman (661) 267-5617 rherman@cityofpalmdale.org
April Bishop TBA Waylon Cleland (760) 873-5863 parks2@ca-bishop.us
Ongoing Various Locations Aaron Evans - MLS (714) 393-8334 duo@mlsoftball.com